Best Chicken Marinade

by brittanymoreno7

Man, I only got 3 hours of sleep last night! No, none of my kids were sick. It was the stupid dog next store who barked until 2:30 in the morning! Seriously. This happens at least once a week. We’ve called the police but nothing has been resolved. Gabe left a note on our neighbors door last night because she wasn’t home. She never is home when they’re barking, of course. Let’s hope this doesn’t happen again. I was seriously having evil thoughts against that dog. I wanted to throw him some Tylenol PM because that apparently kills dogs. Well, I did have my coffee this morning and it helped wake me up so I’m feeling good now. I’ll just sleep really hard tonight (if there are no stupid dogs barking).

Okay, so I did not go running yesterday morning. 😦 I am a bad girl. But my daughter slept in til 7 ( she’s normally up at 6) and we stayed and cuddled in my bed until 8 watching Sleeping Beauty until my son woke up. So we had a lazy morning. Then I did my least favorite thing ever…grocery shopped with 2 little kids. It is a nightmare. I do it every week but it never gets easier. They’re horrible children in the grocery store when they are normally angel kids. There is just something about the grocery store that makes them evil!! I have been wanting to go grocery shopping on Sundays by myself without the kids, but we’re always with family those nights so it never happens. Maybe one day it’ll happen

I did go to CrossFit last night but I was sooooo not wanting to go. I just wasn’t feeling it, but I went and afterwards felt great. It was a tough WOD last night. We did the “Kelly” WOD which included a 400m run, 30 box jumps and 30 wall balls for 5 rounds. It was killer and it took me 39 minutes. Yikes. So maybe I’m glad I didn’t do my run that morning. 🙂

I did make a pretty killer meal last night! I ended up making the Cilantro Lime Shrimp instead of the Pork Avocado Cream Enchiladas because I decided to make them today because I have more time today. Anyways, if you like Shrimp you have to make this recipe. It is soooo fabulous. I made it once before for a few people and they all raved about it. It is really amazing and so easy to make. So make it!

Okay, a few people have asked how I do it all. How I plan these extravagant healthy dinners while taking care of two kids. People have often told me that they never have enough time. They work late and when they come home they just want something quick and easy. Or they don’t want to spend all the afternoon in the kitchen because it takes time away from their children. For me, I decided that eating healthy was a priority for me. I no longer wanted to eat fast food and take-out because I wanted our family to be of better health. So, I was willing to do whatever it took. And yes, it means not taking the easy and quick way out. It means sacrificing time in other areas to be healthy. It can also mean spending more money on groceries. Although, we aren’t going out to eat as much so I think we are actually saving money. I have found a few things that have helped me save time and energy in the kitchen and I wanted to share those things with you. If you truly desire to live a healthier lifestyle, you have to make it a priority.

1. I plan my meals for the week on the weekend before. I write a grocery list and strive to grocery shop on the weekends, but it pretty much doesn’t happen until Monday morning.

2. I only buy what I need for the week. So if I only have one recipe that calls for 2 tomatoes, I only buy 2 tomatoes (unless I want an extra 1 or 2 for lunches throughout the week).

3. After feeding the kids breakfast and they’re playing in their rooms, I pull out the recipe I’m making that night and chop all my veggies that will be needed for the recipe. I will also combine all my spices and amounts needed and put it in a baggie. Now if in the recipe, I’m suppose to add onions and garlic together at one time and then later add tomatoes, I’ll put onions and garlic in one bowl, and tomatoes in another bowl and cover them and put them in the fridge. Same goes for spices. That way when I get home from the gym or whatever, I just have to cook and not worry about chopping and all that jazz. It’s like you have your own food network show and everything is already pre-cut for you. 🙂 If you work, you can chop all your veggies on the weekend or in the morning before work. Whichever works for you.

4. Another thing I do usually on Sunday nights is make some mashed sweet potatoes (recipe coming soon) and marinate some chicken. That way we have them for the week for our breakfasts, lunches or quick dinners when I don’t have time to cook. I want to share with you my chicken marinade because it is my favorite marinade ever!!

Ingredients:

4 chicken breasts, cut in half length wise so they are thinner breasts (you’ll end up with 8 chicken breasts this way)

1/2 cup balsamic vinegar

1/2 cup olive oil

4-5 tablespoons spice brown mustard

salt, pepper and garlic powder, to taste

Directions:

Once, your chicken is cut, put them in a large ziplock bag. Add all the ingredients to the ziplock bag and marinate it over night. The next day grill, bake, or cook on the skillet while basting with the marinade until done. Then keep them in the fridge for the week and eat one with a salad for lunch or a lettuce wrap, eat one for breakfast with some sweet potatoes. And they make great meals for on the go, cause even if the chicken is cold, it is still good. 🙂 And kids like them too.

Hope some of these tips will make things easier in the kitchen and help you to not feel so overwhelmed. 🙂

What are some ways you try to make cooking easier? 

 

