Easy Homemade chicken nuggets

by brittanymoreno7

Figuring out what to feed my kids and myself for lunch has always been a struggle for me. I don’t know why but lunch is just sooo hard. Especially now that I’ve cut out bread and pasta from our diet (the kids do eat bread occasionally but I try to stay away from it as much as possible), it seemed nearly impossible to find foods we could have for lunch. Then I read somewhere on some blog about making chicken nuggets without the breading. So I tried it and let me tell you, it has become our new favorite lunchtime meal. I make it at least once a week, if not more.

These are sooooooo simple to make. Now these do take a little bit longer than making a sandwich or warming up hot dogs in the microwave, but they are worth it. And your kids will gobble them up, I’m sure.

Ingredients:

1 package of Ground chicken (I’ve also had success with ground turkey too)

1 egg

salt, pepper, onion powder and garlic powder to taste

Directions:

Combine all ingredients and mix well with your hands. Warm up a skillet with a tablespoon or so of bacon fat (you can also use coconut oil, butter, or olive oil, but the bacon fat just tastes soooooo much better). Once the oil is nice and hot, form the chicken into little nugget shaped patties and cook them about 2-3 minutes on each side depending on the thickness of the nuggets. The outside should get nice and crispy and look like breading. Serve with Ketchup, some sweet potato fries, and steamed veggies and you’ve got one fantastic lunch for the whole family. Adults like them too. 🙂

Let me know if you try these. 🙂

What are some of your favorite lunchtime meals?? Grain-free or not, I’d love to hear them. 

 

