Finding Rest and Weekly Schedule

by brittanymoreno7

Hola! How’s is everybody today. I love and hate Sunday’s at the same time. They’re are a huge family day which is what I love about it but it also means tomorrow is Monday which I’m don’t love so much because Gabe has to go back to work. 😦 Boo hoo!

Today’s message at church was awesome! We talked about entering into God’s rest and what can hinder us from entering His rest; workaholics who are very driven, never tire, but they can burn out like a switch. Then there are the lazy people who seem to be “resting” but life can close in around them and cause stress and worry because they are not doing anything. The angry person can also be hindered from receiving God’s rest because anger causes bitterness and hate. The legalistic person who is always pointing fingers at other people for what they are doing and having a list of rules that people cannot commit cannot enter God’s rest because they are always worried about other people instead of serving them. We have been made free in Christ which allows us freedom to make our own choices, but 1 Corinthians 10:23 says “All things are lawful for me but not all things are helpful; all things are lawful for me, but not all things edify.” We have freedom in Christ to do what we want but we should check to make sure that the things we are doing is helpful and edifying and not steering us away from Him. We should have the desire to walk closer to Him and cutting out those things that keep us from Him. Galatians 5:13-14 says, “For you, brethren, have been called to liberty (freedom); only do not use liberty as an opportunity for the flesh, but through love serve one another. For the law is fulfilled in one word, even in this: “You shall love your neighbor as yourself.”‘ Do not use the freedom we have in Christ to do things that will fulfill our flesh and/or do not set a bunch a rules for yourself and for others because it takes away the freedom we do have in Christ. Instead, love one another. Serve one another. Encourage one another through His word. Do not condemn. I believe in doing this, we will receive His rest. By loving others, we are living as Christ lived.

Hope this even made sense. HAHA. Sometimes my thoughts get all jumbled and I have a hard time trying to convey what I want to say. So if you got anything out of that last paragraph, hopefully it is: to find rest you must love Him and love others. Jesus says in Mark 12:30-31 “And you shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, with all your mind, and with all your strength. This is the first commandment. And the second, like it, is this, ‘You shall love your neighbor as yourself.’ There is no other commandment greater than these.” 

Now I just wanted to share my weekly schedule as it is Sunday and usually when I write out my schedule for the week on a piece of paper, but I’m gonna be sharing it here instead. So if you don’t care then you can skip it. HAHA.

Monday
830am: 2 or 3 mile run
10am: Grocery Shopping
5pm: CrossFit
Dinner: Pork Avocado Cream Enchiladas (Cannot wait to make this!)

Tuesday
9am: Women’s Bible Study
5pm: CrossFit
Dinner: Cilantro Lime Shrimp

Wednesday
830am: 2-3 mile run
6pm: Church
Dinner: Leftovers

Thursday
5pm: CrossFit
Dinner: Olive, Garlic and Lemon Chicken

Friday
8:30am: 2-3 mile run
6:30pm: Girl’s birthday dinner for Ashley at Cafe Poca Cosa (So excited!)

Saturday
8:30am: 3 mile run around Reid park (We did this on Saturday while Gabe pushed the jogger and running 3 miles was a breeze! I could have ran all day. YEAH!)
3:30pm-7:30pm: Worship for weekend services
Dinner: Anything we can bring to church to eat

Sunday
7:30am-noon Worship for weekend services
4pm: Family Bible Study

Gonna be a fun week of cooking and exercise! I’m excited to try two new recipes this week. Maybe they’ll become staples in our house. I have a list of about 7 recipes that I have tried and loved. It’s a pretty small list but I’m pretty picky and so to have 7 really awesome recipes that I’m not ashamed to make for other people is pretty fabulous. Hoping to add more to the list though. 🙂

Well, more recipes are coming this week including my favorite marinade for chicken. So stay tuned! 🙂

Oh, I have to leave you with this video of my daughter, Evy, crying at the end of Fox and the Hound (or Fox in the House as she likes to call it). She is hilarious. So dramatic. HAHA.

