Almond Flour Pancakes

by brittanymoreno7

“Don’t you realize that your body is the temple of the Holy Spirit, who lives in you and was given to you by God? You do not belong to yourself, for God bought you with a high price. So you must honor God with your body.” 1 Corinthians 6:19-20

Isn’t this verse so awesome?? A friend commented with this verse on my blog and I just thought it was really appropriate for explaining why we are to live healthy lives. We do not own our bodies. They belong to the Lord. We need to honor the Lord by taking care of our bodies. Just thought I’d share. ūüôā

Okay, so now I want to talk about pancakes. Who doesn’t love pancakes?!?!? I’m a little obsessed with them. But then I cut out grains and sugar and it seemed as though eating pancakes was out of the question. Then I learned all about almond flour and coconut flour and how it is a non-grain flour that can be used to make cookies, cakes, donuts, but most importantly, it can be used to make PANCAKES!!! Score!

I was on a mission to find the best grain-free pancake recipe. I tried various recipes. Some that used almond flour, some that used coconut flour, some that had a mixture of both and I came to the conclusion that almond flour makes the best pancakes. The coconut flour is so dense that it needs a lot of liquid so it makes the pancakes really spongy and I didn’t feel like it had the¬†pancake texture I was looking for. I do love using coconut flour when making cakes and donuts cause the cakes turn out super moist from all the liquid used plus coconut flour is a lot cheaper than almond flour. I recently bought a 5lb bag for $8. SCORE!

After ¬†finding my preferred choice of flour for the pancakes, I then went on to make a few different almond flour pancake recipes. I found a lot of them to contain way to many ingredients. I just wanted a simple recipe with ingredients I knew I’d have on hand at all times. Well, my sister had me over to her house one day and she told me about these almond flour pancakes she had made, so she warmed some leftovers up for me and I tasted and loved them! She showed me the recipe and it was soooo simple! It was just the recipe I had been looking for. I went on to try a few other recipes before deciding this was gonna be our go-to pancake recipe. She got the recipe from here, but I’ll post the recipe on here as well with my choice of oil and sweetener. This morning I picked up some McDonald’s coffee, made the pancakes with some pumpkin pie spice (suggested by my sister), topped them off with peanut butter and a little honey and enjoyed a fabulous breakfast. Yummy.

Ingredients:

1 cup of almond flour

2 eggs

1/4 cup of almond milk, or water (regular milk would work too)

2 tablespoons of coconut oil, or light tasting olive oil

1/4 teaspoon of sea salt

1 tablespoon of honey

dash or two or pumpkin pie spice (optional)

Directions:

Mix together and cook like you would cook regular pancakes.

Hope you guys enjoy these as much as I do!! :))

