Turkey Burger Recipe

by brittanymoreno7

Oh my gosh! This candy needs to get out of my house! I cannot stop eating all the chocolate candy. I love me some chocolate. 🙂

Yesterdays run went fairly well. Ran about 2 1/2 miles and was pretty much dying at the end but I think I’m slowly progressing. There is gonna be a 5k girls only obstacle course coming to Tucson on March 17th and I cannot wait for it! It’s the day after my birthday so it’ll sort of be like my birthday present. I’m hoping this running thing will help me to get through the obstacle course. It looks pretty tough. But I’m so excited! :))

Last night was the Harvest Festival at my church and it was a blast. That is where all the candy came from though. Evy dressed up at Pocahontas and got loads of attention. She even went to sleep in her outfit last night and wanted to wear it this morning so getting it off her was a pretty huge ordeal. Haha. At the festival, we ate bun-less hot dogs and hamburgers, we got to ride the choo-choo train, then Evy got her face painted with Hello Kitty and she went down a few pretty tall jumping castle slides all by herself. She wasn’t even scared. I was pretty impressed with her. She’s is such a big girl now and it makes me sad. I wish my kids could stay this age forever. They are at the perfect age. We’re just having so much fun together. And then we got loads of candy. I may just have Gabe take it to school with him to give away to his students.

Tonight is CrossFit again and then my grandma made us her famous Mealoaf and gravy, so that’s what for dinner tonight. 🙂 I have not cooked once this week (the spaghetti sauce was leftovers from the week before), so I really need to get back to it. I do want to share my quick Turkey Burger recipe that I was planning on making this week but never got around to doing. It is really simple but have been told by a handful of people that it is the best burger they’ve ever had. There is just one secret to making the best burgers in the world and I’m gonna share it with you. 🙂 I don’t have exact measurements for this either but I usually just taste a bit of raw turkey to make sure it is to my liking. Hope you’re not all freaked out right now…

Ingredients:

1.25lbs of ground turkey (I know that’s an odd number but that is usually the amount that comes in a package)

1/2 onion, diced

1 egg

Salt, Pepper and Garlic powder to taste

8 slices of pork bacon

Optional ingredients:

Cabbage or lettuce (I prefer the taste of cabbage)

Tomatoes

Homemade Mayo

Carmelized onions

Directions:

Combine the ground turkey, egg, onion, salt, pepper and garlic powder and mix it well together. In a large pan, cook the bacon slices until crispy. Once the bacon in done, leave the bacon fat in the pan, form the ground turkey into 4 patties and cook the burgers in the bacon fat over medium heat(yes, this is the secret to amazing burgers). If you want cheese, I suggest pepper jack, put the cheese on during the last minute of cooking just so it melts nicely. Once the burgers are done, take a leaf of cabbage, spread some homemade mayo on it, add the burger, top with a tomato and caramelized onions and two slices of bacon and wrap the cabbage around the burger (if you can) and enjoy.

Disclaimer: Some people may not be comfortable with using bacon fat and I am sure olive oil would work as well but would probably taste different. I try to eat an all natural whole foods diet excluding all processed foods and believe bacon to be a natural source of protein and fat that our bodies need. I am aware that not everyone eats bacon because of it’s high fat content (which is why is taste sooooo good) so make substitutions if you need to. 🙂

Hope you guys try this burger recipe because it is really really really really good and sooooo easy to make. 🙂

Brittany

