Children Are a Gift

by brittanymoreno7

It is so wonderful when you turn the TV off and watch your kids imagination soar! I’ve been realizing lately how often the TV is on in our house and it is pretty much an all day thing. Even when we weren’t really watching it, it was just on in the back round for no good reason. I think it made things easy because I could get stuff done around the house while they sat and watched a whole Sesame Street or if I’m being totally honest I was happy to get a good hour of computer time checking Facebook and reading blogs. Β For the last couple weeks I decided to keep it off for the most part of the day and it has been such a blessing. I have been loving to watch as my kids read their books, play the piano, play with their baby dolls and cars, sing, dance. I cannot get enough of it! I think today was exceptionally cute and I thought I would just encourage you moms to turn off the TV. We did watch Sleeping Beauty before nap time today so I don’t think all TV is bad but it should be limited.Β “Children are a gift from the Lord; they are a reward from Him.” Psalm 127:3

Yesterday was a fun filled day. In the morning we went to the Women’s Bible Study and it was awesome. A wonderful time of refreshment. One of the questions we discussed really challenged me; Is there something you have been holding on to that the Holy Spirit is urging you to give? I think for me it is my time. Where I am spending my time, how I am spending my time. Yes, I am a busy mom and it would seem to people from the outside that I am doing what I am suppose to be doing and there isn’t much more I could do, but I think I need to be more about Jesus in everything I am doing. My kids are my disciples right now and I want to share more of Jesus with them. I need to be studying His word during their nap times rather than catching up on the TV shows that I’ve missed. I need to be praying more and seeking Him. I need to be serving my friends and family, seeing if there is anything I can bring them, anything I can offer them. I want to reflect Christ and the first place to start is replacing what I spend my time on and focus on Jesus. Oh, I just love being encouraged through the women in our study group. πŸ™‚ Thank you sister for being an awesome group leader. πŸ™‚

After study, my sister took the kids while I headed to Pima to take my college assessments. After talking to someone they informed me I only needed to take the Math assessment which I was so excited about! So I studied real quick then took the test. I was really expecting a more grueling test but it wasn’t too bad. But I do think it is rigged because it only rook me 15 minutes to take the test, I was pretty confident on all 10 questions they gave me (seriously, only 10 questions to determine how smart I am in math? Ridiculous!), and apparently after getting the results, I have to take intermediate and college algebra over again. Ridiculous! But whatever. I love Math so I’m just gonna add the class on to my workload that I’ve already been preparing for and hope that it’ll be like nothing and maybe a class I’ll enjoy. πŸ™‚ I’m kinda excited to be starting school in January.

This picture was from last night’s CrossFit class. πŸ™‚ I basically just put my hair in a side pony tail. Everyone else looked great. HAHA. But the WOD was awesome. There were 2 groups. An alive group and a zombie group. The Zombie group started 3 minutes after the alive group and the goal was for a Zombie to finish the WOD before at least one alive person. If an alive person got beat by a Zombie they had to do 25 burpees at the end of the workout. If the a Zombie didn’t beat an alive person they had to do 25 burpess at the end. I was a Zombie and passed up 3 people! Whoop whoop! So no burpees for me. It was awesome cause I really pushed myself. Fun fun.

The plan for last nights dinner was to make Turkey Burgers but instead we went to the newly opened Freddy’s for a double Steakburger without a bun. Wow, that place is good. πŸ™‚ The burgers were fabulous. Probably one of the best I’ve had. We then went back to the gym for the bicycle drawing to see if we were gonna win the bike. But no dice. I was soo hoping to get it for Gabe since he now rides his bike to work and back every day but it didn’t happen. Oh well. Next time.

Tonight we’re going to church where there is a Fall Festival going on. I’m probably gonna put Evy in her Jasmine outfit. πŸ™‚ She looks so beautiful in it. Hopefully I’ll get pictures.

