Grandma’s Spaghetti Sauce Recipe

by brittanymoreno7

Whew! Yesterday wore me out!! I started the day with a run and finished my day with CrossFit. Our goal for yesterday’s run was 3 miles, but around mile 2 I had to call it quits because I was exhausted. I’m starting this running thing from scratch so 2 miles for me is still good, but I guess I was just a little too ambitious. After yesterday’s run though, it wore me out for the rest of the day. I winded up taking like a 15 minute nap yesterday and when I woke up I totally thought there was no way I was gonna make it to CrossFit that night. I was soooo worn out! But Gabe came home and talked me into going to the gym just to tan and maybe sit on the massage beds and lift a few weights with him. But once I got to the gym, I felt a little more energized and decided to take the CrossFit class.

The workout for last night included a cash-in that was a 10 minute EMOM (every minute on the minute) of 3 thrusters. Then the WOD (workout of the day) included 5 rounds of 10 wall balls and 15 ring rows. I completed this workout in 10:45. Yes, I am slow. And our cash-out was 5 rounds of resistance sprints. Okay, this workout didn’t look very hard when I saw it on the board but man! It kicked my butt! Those ring rows are tough business and thrusters are just ridiculous. So yeah, I was beat at the end of night. But I slept like a baby! :))

Afterwards, we came home to homemade spaghetti sauce and served over spaghetti squash. I made the sauce from my grandma’s recipe. But of course it doesn’t quite taste like my grandma’s sauce but it was still pretty good anyway. I wanted to share the recipe with you but I do not have exact measurements. You should have seen the paper she wrote the recipe down on. It is pretty much incomprehensible. HAHA. And there are no measurements. It’s a little of this and a little of that. So, I’ll share the basic steps and you guys can play around with it to your taste buds. It is a really good sauce and super duper easy and feeds LOTS of people!! My grandma had 9 children so she made everything in bulk. 🙂

Ingredients:

1 large 28oz can of crushed tomatoes

1 large 28oz can of tomato puree

1 15oz can of tomato sauce

1 12oz can of tomato paste

2lbs of ground meat (I’ve used beef, pork and turkey. They are all good)

1/2 onion, diced

Salt

Pepper

Oregano

Parsley

Garlic powder

Crushed red pepper

Sugar

Fresh Basil (optional)

Directions:

Saute the onions in a little olive oil in a large pot over medium heat Once they become translucent add the ground meet and brown it. Then add all the canned tomatoes. Next add all the spices. Now, my grandma adds a serious amount of sugar and garlic powder. I’m talking like 5 tablespoons of sugar and at least 3 tablespoons of garlic. I never get the sauce just like hers and I still think I’m not adding enough sugar and garlic. But my suggestion is to add the sugar 1 tablespoon at a time til it tastes good to you. There is gonna be a lot of sauce so don’t skimp on the spices. I always under-spice at first but this sauce needs lots of spices. And DO NOT skip the sugar! It is a must!

The directions are a little vague but you can get the basic idea and make it your own. 🙂

Well, I am off to CrossFit again tonight. We are suppose to dress up and if we don’t, we’re not allowed to take the class. I think I’m gonna go as an 80’s workout chick. HAHA. Just gonna put my hair in a side pony tail and wear scrunchy socks. HAHA. Easy enough.

Welp, c-ya later.

